Shredded Chicken, Mexican Style

I have come to realize that some of my best ideas have stemmed from situations under immense pressure.  Best paper ever written? Produced the night before it was due for my Humanities class.  Cutest homemade Christmas gifts given? Invented the night before our office party.  And now, the best meal that has ever hit my family’s dinner table? Discovered and made a couple of hours before our family’s dinner time.  Yes, that’s right.  HOURS.

So I’m not sure if it’s skill, pure genius, or a complete occurrence of luck, but I do know that when the pressure is on to deliver, man does this momma deliver.  :)

In this case, our freezer was empty.  All that was in there was some chicken thighs, frozen peas, and a few frozen french fries.  And let me just say that I never understand why my family likes to leave just a couple to a few of something left.  Just eat it all already! I’ll be way more upset if I find out that there are only 3 chicken nuggets left than none at all!  Anyway, back to prepping for dinner.  It was one of those days that you realized that you really don’t have very much food and that it would have been a good idea to go grocery shopping instead of buying those cute shorts and a new shade of nail polish.  Anyway, I had to think quick.  I looked through fridge and pantry and noticed I still had a bag of salad, some salsa, sour cream, cheese, and corn tortillas.

Perfect! Looks like we’re having chicken tacos tonight.  Now I just have to find a recipe for chicken tacos.

And lucky me found a perfect one on the very first site that I came to.

Mexican Style Shredded Chicken Tacos

adapted from David @ Onestopcook

What you will need:

  • 3 lbs of chicken thighs, skins removed
  • 8 cups of water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 4 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp dry oregano
  • 1/2 dsp cumin
  • corn tortillas
  • lettuce, sour cream, shredded cheese, salsa, and anything else you’d like to stick on your tacos

Remove the skin off of the chicken thighs and discard.  Rinse the chicken thighs thoroughly.

Pour 8 cups of water in a large pot and add all of the remaining ingredients to it.

Stir well and then add the chicken.  Stir once more.

Turn on the heat to high and boil for 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to medium low and cook for 80 minutes, or until most (but not all) of the liquid has boiled off.

As you can see, most of the liquid is gone but there is still some at the bottom of the pan.  Use some tongs and remove the chicken from the pot and put into a large bowl.  Use the tongs and a fork to shred the chicken.  Discard any of the bones.  Once the chicken is shredded, take the remaining liquid from the pot and pour onto the chicken.  Mix well.

Now some people like to just warm their corn torillas in the microwave, but I really don’t like them this way.  The way our family preps them is we get a nonstick skillet and heat it up under medium heat.  Make sure not to add any oil or butter to the pan.  You don’t need it.  When it’s nice and hot, we place a corn tortilla on it.

Immediately, you should see the tortilla begin to puff up from the pan.  Cook for about 20 seconds and flip over.  Cook for another 20 seconds and then remove from the pan.

When you cook your tortillas this way it give it a bit of a crisp but the tortilla remains malleable.  Make sure that as you heating up your tortillas, to cover the ones you have already made with aluminum foil.

Once they are finished, you are all set up to make your tacos!

Here is what mine looked like:

The shredded chicken was AMAZING!  The chicken literally fell off of the bone when I was shredding it and it was sooooo moist and flavorful.  Thank you so much to David for this outstanding recipe! We barely had enough leftovers for the next day.

:)

A definite success for dinner.

Just how I like it!

Quick idea: Have this for dinner and then the avocado smoothie for dessert!

Tomorrow is Monday.  Which means it’s time for a super easy and quick dinner!  Stop by and see how we fix up some tilapia goodness.

6 thoughts on “Shredded Chicken, Mexican Style

  1. Pingback: Wait…You want me to drink the avocado? | The Novice's Journey

  2. My mom fixes something very similar to this. Its super tasty and I love it! I like putting Cholula Hot Sauce on mine instead of salsa or Tabasco. Very tasty hot sauce with a good kick. :)

    Matty :D

  3. omg, that look delicious! I am not a big fan of cooking but I LOVE FOOD and now I’m craving tacos!

Leave a Reply

